In a press release issued Thursday, Lewis County Sheriff Steve Mansfield said his department had referred two 22-year-old women to the prosecutor’s office for furnishing liquor to minors in the death of 16-year-old Tyler Gonzalez.
Talia Date and Megan Day, both 22, are being referred to the Lewis County Prosecutor’s Office. Sheriff Mansfield said that through a lengthy investigation by his office, it was determined that both women supplied alcohol to minors the night of the party in which Tyler died.
According to a news release from Sheriff Mansfield, Tyler was at a party in the 100 block of Brockway Road and had been consuming alcohol. He wandered away from the party and was later struck by a vehicle while lying in the roadway.
Tyler Gonzalez died of blunt internal trauma to the head, chest and abdomen as a result of being struck by the vehicle. His post-mortem ethanol level was .17.
“The supplying and voluntary consumption of alcohol ultimately led to Tyler Gonzalez’s death,” Sheriff Mansfield said. “This is a sad, tragic and preventable accident. The initial actions of these two women ultimately set things in motion for the tragedy to occur.
“Tyler voluntarily drank the alcohol; however, one must wonder if he would still be alive today had he not had access and consumed the alcohol which ultimately caused him to make some poor decisions resulting in his death.
“Family, friends, relatives and the woman who struck Tyler will be forever affected by the choices made that night. I would hope the circumstances surrounding Tyler’s death will serve as a sobering reminder of the consequences and long-term effects of people supplying alcohol to minors,” Sheriff Mansfield said.
Alcohol consumption in the U.S. is at an all-time high. Though laws are in place to deter people from drinking and driving, many continue to gamble everything they’ve worked for, their lives, and the lives of others.
Many states have implemented laws wherein if a person is caught drinking under the influence of alcohol they can lose their driver’s license for three months to three years, depending on whether it was their first, second, or third offense. If they refuse to take a test to determine that they have been drinking, their license is immediately revoked for at least one year.
In addition, the cost to reinstate their license and the legal costs and fees incurred are often more than a person can afford. In such cases, some people serve jail time.
Many lose their jobs because they are no longer reliable without transportation or because their job requires them to have a valid driver’s license.
According to DrivingLaws.org, part of the NOLO Law network, penalties for a DUI in California are as follows:
- 1st offense, 4 days to 6 months
- 2nd offense, 10 days to 1 year
- 3rd offense, 120 days to 1 year
Fines and Penalties:
- 1st offense, $1,400 to $2,600
- 2nd offense, $1,800 to $2,800
- 3rd offense, $1,800 to $18,000
- 1st offense, 30 days to 10 months
- 2nd offense, 2 years
- 3rd offense, 3 years
Interlock Ignition Device required:
- 1st offense, yes in some counties
- 2nd offense, yes
- 3rd offense, yes
The blood alcohol content for a DUI in California is .08%.
If a Californian refuses to take a chemical test, they are subject to a fine and automatic license suspension.
In addition, in some cases insurance coverage requirements may have higher limits which results in an additional expense.
The key is if you plan to drink, don’t drive.
All it takes is one time for a police officer to stop you for an insignificant issue, such as a brake light is out, and suspect you’ve been drinking.
Once he asks you to get out of the car, you have the choice to take the test [in which case if you’ve drank in excess of .08% you’ll be charged with a DUI]; or not take the test [in which case your license would be automatically revoked.]